In Case You Missed It: 2022 Fall Festival Short Film Awards

Yellow Bread has gathered the awards of some of the fall’s most important festivals on the short film circuit in case you missed it. In this round: Short Cuts at TIFF, Nordisk Panorama and Encounters.

Toronto International Film Festival MDbPro Short Cuts Awards (8-18 September 2022)
The 2022 IMDbPro Short Cuts Awards were for Best Film, Best Canadian Film, and the Share Her Journey Award for best film by a woman. Each winning film received a bursary of $10,000 CAD and a one-year membership to IMDbPro, the essential resource for entertainment industry professionals, to help them continue achieving success in their careers. Celebrating its 20th anniversary, IMDbPro empowers entertainment professionals to discover new talent and projects and has an ongoing commitment to supporting and collaboratively working with organizations that create greater diversity, equity, and inclusion in the entertainment industry, including TIFF’s Share Her Journey campaign.

The winners of the three awards were
IMDbPro Short Cuts Award for Best Film:Snow in September by Lkhagvadulam (Dulmaa) Purev-Ochir.

IMDbPro Short Cuts Award for Best Short Film, Honourable Mention: Airhostess-737by director Thanasis Neofotistos.

IMDbPro Short Cuts Award for Best Canadian Film: Simo by Aziz Zoromba.

IMDbPro Short Cuts Award for Best Canadian Film, Honourable Mention: Same Old by director Lloyd Lee Choi. 

IMDbPro Short Cuts Share Her Journey Award: Nanitic by Carol Nguyen (2022 TIFF Filmmaker Lab)

The 2022 jurors for the IMDbPro Short Cuts Awards were Sally Lee, Thyrone Tommy, and Lisa Haller.

Nordisk Panorama Awards (22-27 September 2022)

The Best Nordic Short Film Award was presented to one of the 19 films selected for the competition. The award went to the director(s) of the winning film. The prize-winning film qualifies for consideration in the Short Film Category of The Academy Awards. The cash award of 5.000 € was sponsored by the Danish Film Directors and the Swedish Film Directors.

The 15 films in the Young Nordic programme competed for the love of the festival’s most critical audience. The cash award of 1.500€ is sponsored by Nordisk Panorama Film Festival.

The winners of the three awards were

Best Nordic Short Film: From.Beyond by Fredrik Sundsteigen Hana.

Honourable Mention: The Diamond by Vedran Rupic.

The Best Nordic Short Film Competition Jury consisted of director and 2021 Honourable Mention for Best Nordic Short Film Winner for her short film “Nights and Days in July” Jana Bringlöv, the Head of the International Competition, International Short Film Festival Oberhausen Hilke Doering and Co-Producer and Shorts Producer POV Opal H. Bennett.

Young Nordic Award: Inside the Aquarium by Lina Berger.

Encounters Film Festival (27 September-2 October 2022)

Selected by a panel of jurors and audiences alike, awards were from the following categories: Children’s Jury, South West Award, Immersive (VR), Animated Encounters, Brief Encounters, British Award, Student Competition, Audience UK and Audience International Awards.

The winners of the awards were

Brief Encounters Grand Prix: Urban Solutions by Arne Hector, Luciana Mazeto, Vinicius Lopes and Minze Tummescheit.

Brief Encounters Grand Prix Special Mention: Monsieur Le Butch by Jude Dry.

Animated Encounters Grand Prix: Love, Dad by Diana Cam Van Nguyen.

Animated Encounters Grand Prix Special Mention: Sierra by Sander Joon

British Award: The Bayview by Daniel Cook.

British Award Special Mention: I Am Good at Karate by Jess Dadds.

The International Jury consisted of Inari Sirola, Nora Molitor, Dan Guthrie and Meltse Van Coillie.

Immersive Encounters Grand Prix: Cycle of Violence by Felicia Bergstrom.

Immersive Encounters Grand Prix Special Mention: I Horizon by Paul Bush.

TheImmersive Jury consisted of Paola Orlić, Matt Lloyd and Ben Thompson.

South West Award: Sweet Little Despair by Carolina Petro.

South West Special Mention: Yummy Mummy by Gabriela Staniszewska.

The South West Jury was made up ofClaire Horrocks, Olly Treasure-Smith and Neil Ramjee.

UK Student Competition: Suburb by Miles Jezuita.

The UK Student Jury consisted of Siavash Minoukadeh and Laurence Boyce.

Children’s Jury Award: The Girl Behind the Mirror by Iuri Moreno.

Audience Award UK: BabyThump by Ian Killick.

Audience Award International: Monsieur Le Butch by Jude Dry.

Latest from Short News