In Case You Missed It: 2023 Winter Festival Short Film Awards

Yellow Bread has gathered the awards of some of this winter’s most important festivals on the short film festival circuit in case you missed it. In this round: Minimalen Short Film Festival, IFFR, Trieste Film Festival, Flickerfest and Göteborg Film Festival.

Minimalen Short Film Festival (10-15 January 2023)

International Competition

Best International Film –The Minimalen Trophy and 1000 euro granted by Minimalen: Swan in the Center (Swan dans le centre) by Iris Chassaigne (France)

Honorable Mention: Further and Further Away (Chhngai Dach Alai) by Polen Ly (KHM)

Audience Award International Competition – 500 euro granted by Minimalen: Airhostess-737 by Thanasis Neofotistos (Greece)

The Jury was made up of John Canciani, Hilke Rönnfeldt and Liz Harkman.

International and Nordic Competition (combined award)

The Raskin Spirit Festival Award (overarching the two main competitions, and selected by the festival team): I Remember It Rained by Connor Simpson (USA)

The award was established to celebrate the unique qualities of a compact, poetic short film that make use of the visual and auditive possibilities in an imaginative way, and do not follow the traditional feature film dramaturgy.

Nordic Competition

Best Nordic Film – The Minimalen Trophy and 1.000 euro granted by NTNU (Department of Art and Media Studies): The Diamond by Vedran Rupic (Sweden)

Best Norwegian Film – The Minimalen Trophy and 5.000 kroner granted by Minimalen: Penthouse by Vegard Dahle and Line Klungseth Johansen

Best Nordic Art Film: Can Somebody Tell Me That Everything Will Be Fine (Kan noen fortelle meg at alt blir bra) by Siri Bråtveit

Best Nordic Animation: Not Drifting Off by Steph Hope (UK, Norway)

Best Nordic Documentary: You Can’t Show My Face by Knutte Wester (Sweden)

Honorable Mention: From.Beyond by Fredrik S. Hana (Norway)

The Jury consisted of Léo Soesanto, Douwe Dijkstra and Alice Shone.

More information on the awards is available on the festival’s website.

Trieste Film Festival (21-28 January 2023)

The TSFF Shorts Award offered by the Osiride Brovedani Foundation to the best short film in Competition went to Plima by Eva Vidan (Croatia, USA). The jury also awarded two special mentions to Where No Ships Go by Vlad Buzăianu (Romania) and Sheets by Evi Gjoni (Albania)

The Jury was made up of Doris Bauer, Bernd Buder and Giampiero Raganelli).

Flickerfest (20-29 January 2023)

After a highly successful ten-day festival at Bondi, the 32nd annual FLiCKERFEST International and Australian awards were announced on 29 January at a star-studded ceremony at Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach.

International Competition

Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film (Academy® Qualifying): Born to Cry by Léo Grandperret (France)

Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animated Short Film (Academy® Qualifying): Pina by Jérémy Depuydt and Gieseppe Accardo (Belgium/France)

EU In Australia Award for Best EU Short Film: Sami’s Fugue by Vincent Tricon (France)

Special Jury Prize: 48 Hours by Azadeh Moussavi (Iran)

RainbowLGBTQI Competition

Azure Productions Award for Best Rainbow Short: Starf#ckers by Antonio Marziale (USA)

EU In Australia Award for Best EU Rainbow Short Film: Warsha by Dania Bdeir (France/Lebanon)

Special Mention for Rainbow Short: Heartbeat by Michèle Fury (Switzerland)

International Documentary Competition

Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary Short Film (Academy® Qualifying): Long Line of Ladies by Rayka Zehtabchi, Shaandiin Tome (USA)

Special Mention for Documentary Short: Away by Ruslan Fedotow (Hungary/Portugal/Belgium)

 Australian Competition

Panasonic LUMIX Award for Best Australian Short Film (Academy® Qualifying): Katele (Mudskipper) by John Harvey

Spectrum Films Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film: Vee Shi for Jia

Yoram Gross Award for Best Australian Animated Short Film: Teacups by Alec Green and Finbar Watson

AFTRS Award for Best Screenplay in an Australian Short Film: Sushi Noh by Jayden Rathsam Hua

Rebel8 Award for Outstanding Emerging Female Director in honor of Samantha Rebillet: Alies Sluiter for Myth

John Barry Award for Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film Cinematographer: Victor Ng for BLVCK GOLD

Avid Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film Editor: James A. Thomas for Lucky Peach

Avid Award for Best Original Music in an Australian Short Film Composer: James Mountain for Mud Crab

Special Mentions for Australian Short Film: boy/beast by Andrew Shaw and Bangay Lore by Jahvis Loveday

Sae Flickerup Youth Competition

SAE Creative Media Institute FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Short Film: The Trials and Tribulations of Being Jordan by Will Calleja

Special Mention for SAE Creative Media Institute FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Short Film: Xenos by Koko Crozier and Lily Lunder

Yoram Gross FlickerUp Award for Best Youth Animated Film: Garden Thief by Year 7 Doveton High


Avid FlickerUp Award for Best Editing in A Youth Short Film: Thief Vs Thief by Elodie Kliendienst

PS Organic FlickerUp Jury Award for Youth Short Film: Medusa by Karina Cheung

IFFR (25 January-5 February 2023)

On Sunday 29 January 2023, the jury announced the winners of the Ammodo Tiger Short Competition at WORM Rotterdam. The winning films were Natureza Humana by Mónica Lima (Portugal, Germany), Tito by Kervens Jimenez and Taylor McIntosh (Haiti) and What the Soil Remembers by José Cardoso (South Africa, Ecuador). The three titles received equal Ammodo Tiger Short Awards, each worth €5,000.

The awards were decided by a jury of three: film and video artist Stanya Kahn, programmer, art curator and writer Herb Shellenberger, and writer, cultural programmer and organizer Simone Zeefuik.

Göteborg Film Festival (27 January-4 February 2023)

Dragon Award Best Swedish Short: Madden by Malin Ingrid Johansson.

Audience Choice Award for Best Swedish Short: Container Scanning by Edvin Hallberg and Anton Hellström.

Latest from Short News